Campus Advisory Committee


The Campus Advisory Committee provides support related to the work and growth of the ARABAMCC.  The Campus Advisory Committee represents a diverse committee of UIC students, faculty, and staff. The roles and responsibilities of the Campus Advisory Committee include attending one meetings per academic year in which we will seek feedback from the committee on these issues:

  • Strategies for advocating on behalf of the ARABAMCC’s mission within the University and beyond
  • Identifying and accessing resources in order to achieve ARABAMCC yearly goals
  • ARABAMCC campus programming
  • collaborative programming; partnership ideas; academic support for students; fundraising; and other relevant areas.

Members of the Campus Advisory Committee will be asked to attend attend ARABAMCC events and functions when possible; help to increase the visibility of ARABAMCC within their networks; and serve as liaison between the center and the campus communities they serve.


The Director of the ARABAMCC selects members for the Campus Advisory Committee. Each member shall serve a 2-year term, except for the initial committee of which at least two thirds will serve for three years, thereby staggering the members. Terms are renewable for members that are engaged with the ARABAMCC as described in the roles and responsibilities.


The Campus Advisory Committee meets one time per academic year in the beginning of the fall semester. The Director of the ARABAMCC is responsible to develop the agenda and facilitate the meeting. Members will receive minutes of the meeting. In addition, the Director will meet with individual Ambassadors to seek their specific expertise when needed.


The Campus Advisory Committee will participate in its own list-serve. ARABAMCC staff will communicate with the committee and seek consultation and assistance through a specific list-serve. The committee will also receives all ARABAMCC event announcements through email. The Director of the ARABAMCC may also contact individual advisory committee members for assistance based on their particular area of expertise.